FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, August 20, 2015

CONTACT: Jessica Fletcher

Telephone: 719-482-9820


ANA Literary Awards announced at 2015 World's Fair of Money


The ANA's 2015 Literary Awards — recognizing articles published in the 2014 volume of the ANA's official magazine, The Numismatist — were presented Aug. 13 at the 2015 ANA World's Fair of MoneySM in Rosemont, Illinois. The Numismatist was first published by ANA founder and inaugural editor Dr. George F. Heath in 1888.


The Heath Literary Awards


Introduced in 1949, the Heath Literary Awards acknowledges outstanding articles. First place was awarded to Eric P. Newman and Maureen Levine for their July 2014 article, "18th-Century Writings on the Continental Currency Dollar Coin." The ground-breaking study shows that contemporary documents predate the publication once thought to be the earliest description of the iconic American issue. Newman and Levine received $250 and an engraved nickel-silver medal designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki.


John Nebel took second place for his feature article, "The Celator as Artist," published in the August 2014 edition. His article explained the inspiring designs of ten noteworthy Greek coins. 


R.W. Julian received third place for "The 1841-O Half Eagle," published in the July 2014 issue, in which he explains how records indicate this gold piece was not produced by the New Orleans Mint.


George Kolbe received honorable mention for "The Tale of the Tape," published in January 2014. His article described how endorsements and personalities complicated the publication of one of the hobby's most respected references.


The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award


The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award was endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford Jr. It is presented for articles in The Numismatist that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics.


First place was won by Eric P. Newman and Maureen Levine for their July 2014 article "18th-Century Writings on the Continental Currency Dollar Coin." They received a $400 award.


R.W. Julian was awarded second place and $200 for "Notes on 19th-Century Silver Dollars," published December 2014, in which he challenges the myths and unsubstantiated facts behind these coins.


Donald G. Tritt received third place for "Die-Pressed Wooden Medals and Plaques of the 1876 Centennial Exposition," published in July 2014. The article spotlighted the numerous round and rectangular specimens issued to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence.


The Catherine Sheehan Literary Award

The Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies was presented to Andrew Hurle for "Abstractions of Value," published in September 2014, which detailed the ornamental art engraved in the 1800s by geometric lathes and used on paper money and other financial instruments.

All feature articles published in The Numismatist are considered for ANA Literary Awards. For information about submitting manuscripts for review, e-mail Editor Barbara Gregory at

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. The ANA helps its 25,500 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of education and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications, conventions and seminars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or go to

818 N. Cascade Ave. • Colorado Springs, CO 80903 • (719) 632-COIN (2646) •
To receive text email instead of HTML, send a blank message to
To forward to a friend, please click forward.

To unsubscribe from this mailing, please email and a representative will fulfill your request to unsubscribe.